PUGPF – Chapter 117

Chapter 117 Reminder (2)

Raws: https:// book. qidian. com/info/3391187

All credit to original author: Yi Yi Lan Xi

Please read this at https://erzoohobbytranslating.wordpress.com. If you find this elsewhere, it has been stolen.


Lian Fang Zhou had already stepped away and this was, of course, a good thing. Aunt Zhang naturally wouldn’t asked Yang Huai Shan anything, so she smiled and said, “You are really supporting your family now! I am relieved, your parents should be at ease in heaven! Looking at this matter, no one would dare hit you casually in the future. This is good, very good!

“I think so too! Today I did not let them take advantage of us, otherwise it would be really troublesome!” Lian Fang Zhou smiled.

“That’s the reason!” Aunt Zhang followed with another sigh, and then said: “By the way, I heard you bought a donkey?”

“Well! It will be more convenient in the future!” Lian Fang Zhou smiled.

“We should buy another cow,” Aunt Zhang said with a smile: “It’s already the season for storing manure for farming in the coming year! Although green fertilizer is good, it can’t be compared with real manure.”

Please read this at https://erzoohobbytranslating.wordpress.com. If you find this elsewhere, it has been stolen.

Aunt Zhang’s words were a reminder and Lian Fang Zhou’s face turned serious. She nodded and smiled: “Thank you, Aunt Zhang, I am glad you said this or I would have forgotten about it!”

They had bought cows and donkeys and put them in the cowshed. Every two or three days, they sprinkled a layer of dry straw on the ground to allow the cows and donkeys to trample on them. The feces and urine would also be soak into the top. This way, it will be stored for winter and become manure fertilizer.

No matter what, there was nothing better!

If there was no fertilizer in the field, how would the crops grow well?

“It’s just,” Lian Fang Zhou smiled, embarrassed: “You also know that our family hasn’t raised cattle for many years and the cowshed was demolished long ago. However, we need to use it now so we don’t have time to ask someone to fix it!”

Aunt Zhang smiled and said: “I have thought about this for you too and discussed it with your Uncle Li. If you can trust him, let him ask a few people in our village for help. You can get it up in two days! Just take care of the two meals at noon and at night! There are also wood, planks and other materials you will need. You can trust Uncle Li to help buy them!”

Lian Fang Zhou was overwhelmed with joy. She smiled and said, “This is natural, I will trouble you again… but there is still charcoal burning on the mountain, will it be delayed?”

Lian Fang Zhou knew how hard the Li family worked to burn charcoal. Who would let it go if there is a chance to make money? Even if they didn’t farm this year, or even next year, the money would be enough for the family’s expenses. This was a bargain.

“Don’t worry about this!” Aunt Zhang said with a smile: “We have discussed it, and we will stop burning after two more loads. We still have to hurry up and sell it in the city! Haha! Your Uncle Li and Brother San He are working hard, we will make at least forty to fifty taels and you will have the same. When did our family ever make so much money? It’s good to go slowly and not make too much money once! The kiln will be closed tomorrow, and they will be able to help the day after tomorrow.”

“Then I will be impolite!” Lian Fang Zhou was very happy, and smiled: “I’ll leave it to Uncle Li! But I’m afraid I can’t manage the food, can I pay for it? Would twenty-five taels a day be enough?”

“That’s okay,” Aunt Zhang nodded, thought about it, and smiled: “I think even twenty coins would be enough. When the time comes, I will talk to the men and ask them to finish in two days. They are from the village, so it won’t be difficult for them to go home for dinner.”

Please read this at https://erzoohobbytranslating.wordpress.com. If you find this elsewhere, it has been stolen.

“Okay, then it’s settled like this!” Lian Fang Zhou smiled and nodded, asked Aunt Zhang to wait a moment, then went to get the money. She handed 50 taels of silver to Aunt Zhang and smiled: “I don’t know if it’s enough! “

Aunt Zhang nodded and smiled: “Enough, I’m afraid there will be some left over! I will let Uncle Li tell you the accounts then.”

Lian Fang Zhou did not refuse: “Thanks for your hard work!” Although the two families were close, the things that belonged to one, belonged only to that one. These things were clearly stated so no one would have any doubts in their hearts and you could eliminate the possibility of suspicion.

This was a long-term relationship, after all.

“That’s right,” Lian Fang Zhou, suddenly thinking of Liu Jia, smiled again: “I’ve been buying land for the past two days! I’m familiar with land steward, Liu Jia, too. I will ask him tomorrow to see if there are any buyers in the city. What big family or business doesn’t wants charcoal, if the price is right? It’s better than selling it ourselves!”

Aunt Zhang was overjoyed when she heard that, and she nodded and smiled hurriedly, “This is great! It can be sold even at a slightly lower price than the market price! It’s much more convenient than selling it ourselves!”

The first-rate figures in the land office knew many people and were familiar with the city. It really would be easier to have his help.

Lian Fang Zhou smiled and said, “Liu Jia will be here tomorrow. Or, should I ask him to visit Uncle Li at Auntie’s house?”

“That’s even better!” Aunt Zhang smiled and nodded, satisfied.

“I’ll go back first. Your Uncle Li has been worrying about how to sell so much charcoal these past two days! I will tell him the good news, you guys should rest soon!” Aunt Zhang smiled and got up.

Please read this at https://erzoohobbytranslating.wordpress.com. If you find this elsewhere, it has been stolen.

Lian Fang Zhou and Third Aunt also smiled and got up to see them out.

Madam Zhao, who hadn’t spoken much, suddenly smiled and asked, “Fang Zhou, you just said you want to buy land. Didn’t you buy that cotton? Oh, you bought so many cotton seeds, how much land is enough to grow them?”

There is no way to hide this in the future. Seeing that Madam Zhao asked her, Lian Fang Zhou smiled and vaguely mentioned the 1,000-acre land in Shi Touping. The owner of the mountain fork had not advertised the sale because he was worried that someone would try to compete with his price.

Madam Zhao was stunned, and exclaimed: “My goodness, it costs so much to buy thousands of acres. How much money did you spend? I heard that your cousin in Shuang Liu County paid for it? But I thought your cousin hadn’t been in contact for many years?”

“Alright, what are you doing with all the useless questions? Go!” Aunt Zhang smiled at Lian Fang Zhou and forced Madam Zhao to leave.

Madam Zhao’s mouth agreed and her feet moved consciously, but her eyes were looking at Lian Fang Zhou brightly, obviously waiting for her to answer.

Only then did Lian Fang Zhou understand why Madam Zhao had come with Aunt Zhang today. She was looking for gossip!

She smiled and said: “There is indeed a cousin in Shuang Liu County. Her mother and my mother were close friends in the past. Unfortunately, my aunt died earlier than my mother…”

Madam Zhao went “Oh” as she suddenly realized, no wonder she hadn’t been in contact for so many years!

She wanted to ask more but Aunt Zhang urged her to leave. She smiled at Lian Fang Zhou and said, “I will come to talk to you again when I am free!”

What could Lian Fang Zhou say? She could only smile and agree.

Leaving Lian Fang Zhou’s house, Aunt Zhang gave Madam Zhao a dissatisfied look, and said, “What can I say, why don’t you remember why you came with me today! All of that is just gossip for others to talk about, why are you joining in the fun? Not even I am asking about it, you, you!”
“Mother,” Zhao said with a smile: “I’m just a little curious in my heart. Besides, I didn’t say anything that couldn’t be said. And anyways, didn’t Fang Zhou refuse to answer?”

Aunt Zhang huffed and said: “You have asked, can’t someone not answer? I know what crooked idea you have in your heart, I tell you, and I am telling you no!”

8 thoughts on “PUGPF – Chapter 117

  1. Thank 6our for your hard work! I feel it will sound better if you change ‘Then I will be impolite’ to ‘Then I won’t be polite’. It’s a phrase that I saw in several translations, so it might be a reason why it looks more natural to me now. Your call tho. Thanks again!

    Like

  2. The numbering is messed up it seems
    Ch 114 she talks about meeting someone to buy fields
    Ch115 says she has bought a few thousand mu of fields
    Ch116 she is going to look at fields to buy
    Also no next chapter button

    Like

    1. I’ve gone back and checked, the chapters are in the correct order. LFZ buys land several times throughout the next 50 chapters or so. The next button is btwn the ‘publish by’ section and the start of the comments. This theme uses a sort of silvery color, so it can be a little hard to see.

      Like

  3. Taels and coins are different
    Coins were referring to wen aka loose change
    She didn’t pay them 25 taels a day it was 20ish coins
    She gave 50 taels to buy supplies as well as be used as pay for workers

    Like

Leave a comment